Home > Uncategorized > Let’s Start at the Very Beginning

Let’s Start at the Very Beginning

They say when a student is ready, a teacher will appear. . . except that most Pagans and Wiccans are solitary practitioners! Sure, you’ve read every book you can get your hands on, but there is nothing like having someone around when you have a question! So here it is at last! An interactive community to share and grow, guided by someone who’s been around the broom a time or two. You have questions? Bring em’ on!

What is this blog about?

This is the place to ask questions. It is reader-generated by you, Gentle-Reader! This is not your general “how-to” cook-book style blog! There are plenty of those. This is for those hard questions answered by someone who’s not an idiot and won’t treat you like one either. Here are some topics to get us started:

* Ethics– people who think Wicca and Paganism are devoid of ethics are assuming wrong. The hard part of having nothing to tell us what to do is that we have to create our own set of ethics. We have a few rules to guide us, but very little that says how to apply them, and nothing that applies them to you! Let’s talk situational or grandiose! It’s like Dear Abby, only she’s got a pointy hat on.
* Lifestyle Advice– new to the Craft? You aren’t alone. There is a lot of etiquette to learn, new vocabulary, new stuff to buy or make, new places to go and new people to meet. And what about telling your grandmother about your new lifestyle and your new friends? We can certainly learn from each other here.
* Research and Origins– want to know where something came from? Why we say a certain thing or celebrate certain things? Curious about where our ideas came from? Or if we are actually as old as we say we are? We’ll examine the truth and myth that got us here (and why a healthy dose of both is appropriate!).
* Relating to the Gods- Our religion is so personal and experiential. Sometimes the messages they send us don’t make much sense. From dream interpretation to tarot card meanings, omens to channeling…together we can make more sense of your experiences. Who knows, maybe someone out there on the forum has had a similar experience!
* Us vs. Them- Why is it that we have to define ourselves by what we aren’t? It is an ages-old way of understanding and relating to each other. Comparative religion is still a valid topic. If you are new to Paganism, you might have problems adjusting to some of the new ideas. Or maybe we can benefit from the ideas of others!
* Stuff I Like!- Great books I’ve found to be helpful, cool blogs and websites, products I think you might like, stuff that makes your life more magical, fun or sacred. If you would like me to review a product of yours, let me know! I’m especially interested in unique, handmade items, scholarly books, and useful things.

Who Am I?
I’m a perpetual student, like you, who got tired of asking questions to thin air. Instead, I got educated, got involved, listened, read and wrote. I have a BA in English literature, and found that the Gods show up where we least expect them. I minored in the Humanities, so I have a background in ideas, religion, psychology, art, and civilization in a vain attempt to answer the great question “What Does it Mean to Be Human?”. I have taken graduate courses in Secondary Education, which means I’m a teacher, and very used to answering questions in ways that lots of people can understand. I am currently pursuing a Masters in Professional Counseling, so I know about how thinking directs behavior, and how to deal with emotions and feelings. I have been academically pursuing the study of Paganism and Wicca since 2001, when I was in college. I co-founded several Pagan/Student University groups, most notably Pagans and Students Together, which still meets at Western Washington University. I belong to the Aquarian Tabernacle Church, and am a 1st Degree in the tradition. I have studied at the WISE College of Wiccan Science (now Woolston-Steen Theological Seminary). I define myself as a Witch, and I day-light (instead of moonlight) as a tarot reader. I also teach at a private school.

How to Get Involved

1. Subscribe to the RSS feed. I keep a few I like on my igoogle page. This will notify you when there is a new post to enjoy.
2. Submit a question. How cool would it be to have your question answered by an expert? And see your name on the internet? IN A GOOD WAY! Email me! Or use the comments section below. I promise to read them a lot. And let me know if you want to remain anonymous.
3. Comment and discuss. I know you have an opinion! And as long as it’s not flaming or rude to anybody, I’ll keep it there. Pagans shouldn’t tolerate harassment. Feel free to disagree, but do so in a respectful way. And cite your sources, if you can. Or just say hi. That’s cool too.
4. Support the writer. If you like the content, why not buy me a cup of coffee? Donate to the cause of keeping the site up. If I didn’t have all those bills, I could do this full time, which would be better for you! Or, if your wallet has little moths flying out of it, click on an ad and check out what they have to say (I try to keep them relevant, but you know how it is).
5. Tell your friends. Shucks, tell your enemies if you think it will help them.

So without further ado….

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. November 16, 2009 at 12:12 am

    I can’t wait to get started! Post or email your questions now!

  2. Shaiha
    December 1, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Great ground rules! I look forward to seeing this blog grow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

