Home > Uncategorized > Paganism on SecondLife

Paganism on SecondLife

(This is a repost from Jupiter. I loved it and wanted to share it with you. Mostly because, you know, it’s my peeps, but it is also informative and interesting. If you have SeconeLife, go check it out!)

I’ve finally started exploring Paganism in Second Life. A friend sent me several Landmarks, one of which led me to the Sacred Cauldron.

The Sacred Cauldron is a Mature Island Estate for Pagans to live, play, work, and worship in Second Life. There are private residences, vendors, ritual spaces, a drum circle, a pub, and lots of pretty areas to just hang out at. The sim hosts events and classes, including a morning charge where people gather at the Artemis Temple to hear someone recite the Charge of the Goddess and then take turns saying what they are grateful for and their intentions for the day. I admit that I am skeptical about virtual spirituality, but it’s hard not to feel good and like I’m starting the day off right after focusing on the things I’m grateful for and hearing others share their gratitudes.

After scratching the surface, I discovered that Sacred Cauldron is owned by the Woolston-Steen Theological Seminary, the dean of which is Lady Belladonna LaVeau. The name and face sounded familiar and it didn’t take me long to realize she’s the Witch that appeared on Wife Swap in March 2006. Although not as memorable as the Trading Spouses episode with Marguerite Perrin, Lady Belladonna did raise a few eyebrows. Nevertheless, unlike Kendra Vaughan Hovey who wore a clerical collar on My Unique Family and later converted to some form of Christianity, Lady Belladonna seems to be going strong. She runs the Covenant of WISE, under the ATC, and is the dean of the The Woolston-Steen Theological Seminary. The Sacred Cauldron aims to bring real life Wiccan classes and clergy training into Second Life. Judging by its size and membership numbers, I’d say there’s a need for it.
I can already hear the poo-pooers objecting to Paganism in the virtual world, but Wicca has been taught via correspondence for at least 30 years and the internet has helped our community grow. Virtual and distance learning are standard in many educational institutions and if Second Life is good enough for Harvard, Standford, and Clemson, it’s good enough for me.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

